Handling time from SSAS to Reporting Services – Reporting Services

As part two from my previous post Handling time from SSAS to Reporting Services I had my data ready to go in SSAS and was ready to build my report. Once I got the layout and data sets built I added my time field to the report. I then set it’s format as TIME, saved it and ran the report. Instead of the 4:31am I was expecting for the first row, I got 0.188194444446708. I then remembered that SSRS had been ignoring my SSAS formatting. So after some digging on the web, looking through SSRS functions and posting in the forum, I found the solution. Actually I should say it was presented to me by Isham H in the Reporting Services forum. He suggested I use the function Date.FromOADate. Sure enough I threw it in the expression and VIOLA! I got 4:31 am.
 
To read up on it click here
Leave a Reply

